The BHC Nation “Order of the Notorious” Inductee #5: Mike McDonnell

Inductee #5: Mike McDonnell.  Let me tell you about this guy I know.  When you read his writing, the first thought that will go through your mind is, this guy is angry in a good way.  The second thing you will notice is that he isn’t afraid to let a good story ramble on at a pace all its own.  You’d think he gets paid by the letter.  And I tease him because, well, that’s just the kind of guy he is.  He’s like a little bear cub with a taste for human.  Here’s something else about this guy, I’ve never met him in person.  Not once.  Never spoken on the phone nor received some twisted Christmas card with his Chester mustache creepily looking up the skirt of one of Santa’s helper elves.  I don’t know if he sounds like Mr. T or Mike Tyson, though from looking at his mug, I’m betting it’s a cigarette harshened Bea Arthur.  And even though I’ve never done any of those things with Mike McDonnell, this dude is my friend. 

     Back in the old days there was this blog on Myspace.  One Man Asylum it was called.  Mine was a Facebook birth so I’ve never read it, heard good things.  Anyway, this other blog on that site at the same time was called Texts, Drugs, and Rock-n-Roll.  That’s Mike. Personified him for me in a way that few titles, be it movie, album, blog,  ever have.  One Man Asylum says a lot, but Texts, Drugs, and Rock-n-Roll, that was something you wanted, no NEEDED, to be a part of.  It’s like being part of the Nation.  It’s bigger than you and it’s inviting and it’s loud but you want, no NEED, to be involved in it. 

     There are very few people who I friend requested in the beginning.  Mike was one of the first on my list.  I knew when I decided that I was gonna include the Bobblog in this amusement park that he would be a must have.  If there was a guy who would help spread the Nation across the nation, it was Mike.  And he did that with as much gusto as Andy Dick judging a sausage swallowing competition.  He was all over it from the get go.  Thank you Mike.  You’re one of the great guys. Not allowed in 4 states, but still, dude, great guy.

  1. #1 by Lizzie Fox on December 14, 2010 - 7:39 pm

    Very well said!

  2. #2 by TDRR on December 15, 2010 - 12:08 am

    I miss that OMA’s blog, you are an excellent writer yourself. In my blogs I just tell how my life is from my persepective, no sugar coating for anyone!

    I am honored to be an inductee!! Keep up the great work Nation!

Leave a Reply

